

July 25, 2012

The Honorable Rahm Emanuel Mayor of Chicago 121 North LaSalle Street, Room 507 Chicago, Illinois 60602

Dear Mayor Emanuel,

The National Trust for Historic Preservation recently completed a landmark recommendation report documenting the significance of architect Bertrand Goldberg's Prentice Women's Hospital. The report confirms what we already believed: that the historic Prentice exceeds the criteria for Chicago landmark designation, that it is truly singular in construction and layout, and that it changed the course of modern hospital design.

As members of the architecture community, we believe Goldberg's Prentice should be given a permanent place in Chicago's cityscape. A building this significant – this unique in the world – should be preserved and reused.

Prentice was a culminating work for Bertrand Goldberg, who most famously designed Chicago's Marina City. Over his 60-year career, Goldberg designed eight major hospitals around the country; Prentice is the only one located in his hometown. His ideas for improving hospital design helped redefine patient- and family-centered care. Prentice's cloverleaf tower exemplifies the belief that patients should be grouped in communities around a nursing center, creating "quiet villages" that improve proximity and sightlines between nurses and patients, welcome fathers into birthing rooms, and place mothers closer to their babies in the nursery.

Prentice also propelled advances in the fields of architecture and engineering that are still recognized today. Its cantilevered concrete shell broke with precedent and remains unique in the world. The result created columnfree floors that today allow great flexibility for reuse options. Upon completion in 1975, critics and engineers worldwide celebrated Prentice as a breakthrough in structural engineering.

The legacy of Bertrand Goldberg's Prentice Women's Hospital is unmistakable. It stands as a testament to the Chicago-led architectural innovation that sets this city apart. Chicago's global reputation as a nurturer of bold and innovative architecture will wither if the city cannot preserve its most important achievements.

Reuse options abound. We urge you, the Commission on Landmarks, and the City Council to grant this building landmark designation and preserve Chicago's historic architectural legacy.

Sincerely,

Joe Antunovich, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

Gustavo F. Araoz

President, International Council of Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) Washington, District of Columbia



William Baker, PE, SE

Chicago, Illinois

Carol R. Bentel, FAIA

Chair, National AIA Committee on Design 2008 Locust Valley, Nevada

David Brininstool, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

Sheridan Burke

President, ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on 20th Century Heritage (ISC20C) Sydney, Australia

Jean Carroon, FAIA

Chair, National AIA Historic Resources Committee 2012 Boston. Massachusetts

Louise Cox, HFAIA

President, Union of International Architects (UIA) 2008-2011 Sydney, Australia

Dirk Denison, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

John Eifler, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Philip Enquist, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Doug Farr, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

David N. Fixler, FAIA

President, DOCOMOMO_US/New England Boston, Massachusetts

Jeanne Gang, FAIA

MacArthur Fellow 2011 Chicago, Illinois

Frank Gehry, FAIA

AIA Gold Medal 1999; Pritzker Prize 1989 Los Angeles, California

Geoff Goldberg, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

Phil Hamp, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Donald J. Hackl, FAIA

Chancellor of the AIA College of Fellows 2009 Chicago, Illinois

Gunny Harboe, FAIA

Vice President, ICOMOS ISC20C; Board Member DOCOMOMO_US Chicago, Illinois

Jörg Haspel

Vice President, ICOMOS Germany Berlin, Germany

Malcolm Holzman, FAIA

New York, New York

Eugene C. Hopkins, FAIA

AIA President 2004 Ann Arbor, Michigan

Marlene Imirzian, AIA

Chair, National AIA Committee on Design 2013 Phoenix, Arizona

Richard Keating, FAIA

Los Angeles, California

Thomas Kerwin, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Stephen J. Kelley, AIA, SE, FAPT, FUSICOMOS

President, ICOMOS ISCARSAH

Chicago, Illinois

Jackie Koo, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

Leonard Koroski, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Ronald Krueck, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Brian Lee, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois



Dirk Lohan, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Brad Lynch

Chicago, Illinois

Jeffrey McCarthy, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Robert L. Meckfessel, FAIA

Board Member, DOCOMOMO_US Dallas, Texas

Mike Mense, FAIA

Chair, National AIA Committee on Design 2012 Anchorage, Alaska

Michael Mills, FAIA

Past Chair, National AIA Historic Resources Committee Princeton, New Jersey

Kyle Normandin

Secretary General, ICOMOS ISC20C Los Angeles, California

Louis R. Pounders, FAIA

Chair, National AIA Committee on Design 2009 Memphis, Tennessee

Theodore Prudon, FAIA

President, DOCOMOMO_US New York, New York

Jack Pyburn, FAIA

Past Chair, National AIA Historic Resources Committee Atlanta, Georgia

Donna Robertson, FAIA

Professor and John and Jeanne Rowe Chair, Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago, Illinois

John Ronan, AIA

Chicago, Illinois

Ken Schroeder, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Mark Sexton, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Bob Somol, Ph.D., J.D.

Director, University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Architecture Chicago, Illinois

Tristan d'Estrée Sterk, AIA, SBA Netherlands

AIA Chicago Dubin Family Young Architect of the Year 2011 Chicago, Illinois

Billie Tsien, AIA

New York, New York

Richard Tomlinson II, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Joe Valerio, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

John Vinci, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Charles Waldheim

Chair, Department of Landscape Architecture, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts

Dan Wheeler, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Sarah Whiting, Ph.D., Associate AIA

Dean of College of Architecture, Rice University Houston, Texas

Tod Williams, FAIA

New York, New York

Ross Wimer, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Antony Wood

Studio Associate Professor, Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago, Illinois

David Woodhouse, FAIA

Chicago, Illinois

Kulapat Yantrasast

Silpathorn Award 2009 New York, New York



Siegfried Zhiqiang Wu, Ph.D.

Vice President, Tongji University; Chief Planner, World Expo 2010 Shanghai, China

Andrew Zago

Faculty, Southern California Institute of Architecture Los Angeles, California

Dr. Anke Zalivako

Research Fellow - 20th Century Heritage, Technical University of Berlin Berlin, Germany

CC:

Commissioner Andrew Mooney, Dept. of Housing and Economic Development Alderman Brendan Reilly (42nd Ward)
Commissioner Rafael Leon, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner John Baird, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner Anita Blanchard, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner James Houlihan, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner Tony Hu, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner Christopher Reed, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner Mary Ann Smith, Commission on Chicago Landmarks
Commissioner Ernest Wong, Commission on Chicago Landmarks